Perkedel OK! It’s International Tater Day!


Raining outdoors.

I hope it continues and intensifies through the afternoon!

……

Beware! Very Short Fanatic ‘Long March,’ Jakarta, This Friday! 

Here at home, awaiting a visitor, I have begun boiling potatoes (with minced beef) to see me through the day,and lo, I chance upon the news that 31st March is Potato Day! 

========== 

Hasil gambar untuk tater day march

=

Unlike in the lands I grew up in, Indonesia’s staple is rice, which I do eat a lot of, in my warteg…

====

or courtesy of the tukang gado2.

But potatoes are popular here too, many Javanese farmers producing them in abundance, up around the Dieng plateau.

One of my fave foods is the perkedel, a sort of potato cake…

..

Gambar terkait

..

…which is very tasty indeed.

So I think I may celebrate the wonderful tuber today by devouring a few more!

 

