Samsung Saga – Eyeless in Gandaria!


Last week my camera stopped working. No warnng, no obvious reason -I hadn’t dropped it or left it in the pocket of my rompi jacket during the twice-weekly wash.

=

puzzled

=

When I tried to take pictures, all I got was a wee black square telling me of a ‘card error,’ and although I followed the linked instructions, no joy.

Then I stuck the card into the computer, wishing to ‘re-format’ the card, whatever that means, but another message, ‘Windows cannot complete reformatting!’

So it was the card at fault. However, I am no hi-technocrat, and I wanted the company’s in-put into the problem.

So off I went to Fatmawati, a visit scheduled with somebody I know in nearby Cipete turned to extra advantage since the Samsung Service Centre is located in ITC Fatmawati.

 Interesting place, that ITC, two pleasant floozies idling outside the Samsung joint who drew me into their conversation and advised me they’d be in Eastern Promise that very evening.

But that’s another story.

Samsung had one of those ticket machines, so when my number came up, I advanced to the counter, where a most attractive young lady quickly took in the nature of my problem and told me they didn’t do cameras, only handphones.

=

Daftar Alamat Service Center SAMSUNG Di Jakarta

=

Samsung have no sign to indicate their ‘service’ centre only services one type of their products, and had it not been a pretty thing breaking the news of wasted time, I’d have spoken harshly.

Instead i accepted her info that the Pondok Indah centre was where i had to go. But not that day (nor did I go to Eastern Promise – other fish to fry!)

However, today I finally decided that having a nice camera that won’t take photos is a most frustrating experience,

I set out for Gandaria City.

=

gandacitr Gandaria City

=

I’d rung the Samsung number but nobody would answer, and since PLN ( local electricity company) had warned us residents we’d have no power all morning, hitting the trail seemed an agreeably useful thing to do.

LotteMart at Gandaria usually stocks Lucky Strike Hijau, so I figured I’d go there first then hoof it down Jalan Sultan Iskandar Muda till I found my ultimate goal.

Skip the Lotte section of my day.

Since I was by now in GC, and they had a Samsung outlet, it seemed wise to ask there, but the two bozos behind that counter hadn’t a clue.  One advised me to buy a new card at Gramedia, which of course I’m boycotting, https://rossrightangle.wordpress.com/2012/12/31/intolerance-in-indonesia-gotta-go-for-gramedia/

Weary of failure, I made for the exit, only to see Electronic Solution.

  • electronc solut
  • Might I find a solution there?

Almost. Two girls behind the cashier’s counter were extremely helpful, fiddling purposefullywith the camera, then one of them suggested trying the card in one of their ‘for sale’ cameras.

=

samsung cameras1588

=

Lo and behold, it worked. no problem!

We re-inserted it into my Samsung – same old song. Card error.

But clearly the card was hale and hearty, working happily in other cameras.

Service Centre here I come.

Downstairs, out onto the street, onto a D2 pale blue angkot, peering left and right to spot the place (because it’s is not at Pondok Indah, not the mall, at least. Kebayoran Lama is arguably adjacent to PIM, but not identical, nor hard by)

Digital Camera

Jalan Sultan iskandar Muda, blue angkot visible on the left

============

Bingo. I saw it, right by the Busway, and hopped off the D2, delighted to find only a small queue. I got ticket number 45.

=========================

  • silhouetee
  • ————-
  • Soon enough, I was summoned, another very pretty girl ( judging from the parade of honeys going up and down the employees’ stairs there, Samsung have a warehouse full of ’em!)

My honey listened carefully to my tale of woe, then examined the camera. She did not remove the card first, wishing to see for herself the dire message I’d reported.

She saw no message. She took a photo of the ads on the wall.

It worked.

=

498px-Smile_fasdfdsfoiueire_svg

=

I was too delighted to be embarrassed.

Any explanations out there? Neither she nor I understood what had been happening.